Sonnet 150

17 ottobre 2012

William Shakespeare – Sonnet 150

O, from what power hast thou this powerful might

With insufficiency my heart to sway?

To make me give the lie to my true sight,

And swear that brightness doth not grace the day?

Whence hast thou this becoming of things ill,

That in the very refuse of thy deeds

There is such strength and warrantize of skill

That, in my mind, thy worst all best exceeds?

Who taught thee how to make me love thee more

The more I hear and see just cause of hate?

O, though I love what others do abhor,

With others thou shouldst not abhor my state:

If thy unworthiness raised love in me,

More worthy I to be beloved of thee.

 

 

Oh, da quale potenza ricevi questo tuo forte potere

Di dominare il mio cuore con  la tua manchevolezza,

Di farmi dar di bugiarda alla mia vista veritiera

E giurare che la chiara luce non aggrazia il giorno?

Di dove trai questo tuo render belle le cose brutte,

Cosicché perfino negli scarti dei tuoi atti

C’è la forza e prova di bravura

Che nella mia mente il tuo peggio supera ogni meglio?

Chi t’insegnò a far sì che tanto più io ti ami

Quanto più sento e vedo giusti motivi per odiarti?

Oh, anche se io amo ciò che aborrono gli altri,

Tu non dovresti, con gli altri, aborrire la mia condizione.

Se la tua indegnità risvegliò in me amore,

Tanto più degno io sono di essere amato da te.

 

(traduzione di Alessandro Serpieri)

 

 

 

 

Lascia un commento

